Facility Champion Award Recognizes Diverse Group of Facility Personnel

Eight winners shine in their commitment to the facility management industry.   September 12, 2023

By Dave Lubach, Executive Editor

FacilitiesNet is proud to announce the winners of the second annual Facility Champion Award.   

In many examples across the country, facility managers and maintenance and engineering managers have repeatedly proved their worth to organizational leaders and building occupants.  

The Facility Champions have proven to be a cut above their peers.  

"From schools to hospitals to commercial offices and everywhere in between, buildings can't operate without the efforts of facility personnel. Yet, these men and women rarely get recognized for their efforts," says Dan Weltin, editor-in-chief, facility market. "We are excited for the opportunity to honor these eight winners and share their stories with the industry." 

The editors in the Facility Market at Trade Press Media Group received more than 50 nominations for the Facility Champion award. Winners are as follows:   

  • Leo Bobadilla, VP, Chief of Facilities, Miami Dade College. 
  • Kristian Byk, Director of Operations, Watching Hills Regional High School, Warren, New Jersey 
  • Anthony Costello, Airport Maintenance and Property Director, Lakeland (Florida) Linder International Airport 
  • Mark Edwards, Facilities Services Director, Mariott International 
  • Justine Manaid, Director of Facilities, Eden Housing, San Francisco 
  • Richard Mason, Maintenance Supervisor, Delaware Area Career Center 
  • Steve Smith, Director of Hospital Facilities, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas 
  • John “JT” Troesch, Facilities Director, Medxcel, Pensacola, Florida. 

The 2023 Facility Champions will be recognized as part of a webcast that will air November 8 on FacilitiesNet.  

Dave Lubach is executive editor for the facility market. 


Read next on FacilitiesNet