Emergency Preparedness Checklist

By Desiree J. Hanford  
OTHER PARTS OF THIS ARTICLEPt. 1: Homeland Security Department Pushes for Emergency Preparedness Certification ProgramPt. 2: This PagePt. 3: Documents and Guidelines for Emergency Preparedness

Title IX of Public Law 11-53, also known as the 9/11 Commission Act of 2007, calls for the development of a voluntary, private-sector standards program for emergency preparedness. Title IX calls for recommendations to be developed and best practices identified in eight areas:

  1. Identifying potential hazards and assessing risks and impacts
  2. Mitigating the impact of a wide variety of hazards, including weapons of mass destruction
  3. Managing necessary emergency preparedness and response resources
  4. Developing mutual aid agreements
  5. Developing and maintaining emergency preparedness and response plans, and associated operational procedures
  6. Developing and conducting training and exercises to support and evaluate emergency preparedness and response plans and operational procedures
  7. Developing and conducting training programs for security guards to implement emergency preparedness and response plans and operations procedures
  8. Developing procedures to respond to requests for information from the media or the public

Desiree J. Hanford is a freelance writer who spent 10 years as a reporter for Dow Jones. She is a former assistant editor of Building Operating Management.

Contact FacilitiesNet Editorial Staff »

  posted on 8/1/2008   Article Use Policy

Related Topics: