Overview of Points System for LEED-EB O&M

By Ryan T. Evans, P.E.  
OTHER PARTS OF THIS ARTICLEPt. 1: A Facility Manager's Guide to LEED-EB O&M Rating SystemPt. 2: This PagePt. 3: Successful LEED EB O&M Certification May Take Years to AchievePt. 4: Options to Explore When LEED EB O&M Certification Not Possible

LEED-EB: O&M is a point-based rating system consisting of 100 points. Credits are weighted based on their perceived environmental impact. If a facility earns 40 points, it has become a LEED certified building. Facilities can achieve higher levels of certification: silver at 50 points; gold at 60 points; and platinum at 80 points.

As with all LEED rating systems, LEED-EB: O&M consists of five core categories of credits and prerequisites: project-site factors; water management; systems and energy impacts; materials selection; and improving the indoor environment. Facilities also can achieve extra credit in a special category that rewards innovative approaches to operations or by attaining certain credits deemed a regional priority.

Contact FacilitiesNet Editorial Staff »

  posted on 12/10/2012   Article Use Policy

Related Topics: