Latest NEC Now Effective in 12 States

  September 17, 2014

The 2014 edition of the National Electric Code (NEC) is now effective in 12 states: Alabama, Colorado, Idaho, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Mexico, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington and Wyoming. An additional 11 states are set to enforce the 2014 edition in the coming months, according to the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA).

The newest edition of the code includes four new articles: Low voltage direct current distribution systems, modular data centers, fire resistive cable systems, and energy management systems. Other changes include expanded AFCI and GFCI protection requirements, and new approaches to photovoltaic electric systems that provide greater safety for first responders, according to NFPA.

In addition, an Android mobile app for the latest edition of the code is now available, joining the 2014 NEC app already available for Apple devices.


Read next on FacilitiesNet